Posted by: nwracing | May 26, 2015

Andromeda Tow Kart Part 2

In the first part of the fabrication of the tow kart I was building the rear wishbone. When it was finished I couldn’t help myself and assembled the rear axle on to the wishbone just to see whether it looked like I had imagined it. A stick drawing (my blueprint) doesn’t really inspire! So here it is…

Tow Kart Rear Axle

The rear bearings carriers did take some setting up ready to weld and I was careful to tack both sides to make sure they remained in line. Even then there was still some distortion from the welding, Thankfully the bearings do allow some misalignment so this will not cause a problem.

Rear Bearing Carrier

Welding the eyes for the suspension bushes was quite difficult as it needed to be square in all planes. The bushes were superflex which I had bought years ago for a project that never got off the ground. Welding with them fitted would wreck the polyurethane so I made some spacers out of round bar and washers and used all-thread as a way of holding them square.

Rear Axle

I have to say I’m pleased with the result and it has inspired me to get a move on with the fabrication. I decided that I would complete the rear wishbone by making the mountings.

One of the things I have learned is that making brackets can take hours and one mistake can mean a scrap part and you have to start all over again. As one of the principles of the build was to use any metal I had lying around for brackets I used what I had so it is probably thicker than required at 5.00 millimeters. This made it just a little more difficult to cut and I wore out a couple of hole cutters and a number of sanding discs just to get the four brackets made.

Suspension Brackets

As I’m in bracket making mode I will make the front suspension brackets and have decided to build the front section  as a separate piece and then hopefully fit it all in the jig ready to put all the frame rails together.

Leave a Reply

Categories

